1. DMarket Blog
  2. Esports
  3. Stockholm International Esports Awards - Who’s the Best?
Post thumbnail

Stockholm International Esports Awards - Who’s the Best?

We all have our own preferences in Esports disciplines, teams, and players. Still, it’s quite interesting to know an objective opinion on the best games and personalities. Stockholm International Esports Awards gives exactly such an opportunity – the ceremony took place in the Swedish capital on September 3, and here are the results.

This event happened just after the significant Esports tournament, CS:GO DreamHack Masters Stockholm 2018, where North took the first place.

In 2018, the ceremony of STHESA (or Stockholm International Esports Awards) was the first ever. This is a good sign that Esports is proving itself to be as much a part of our culture as traditional sports.

So, let’s have a look at the nominations, contenders, and winners, chosen by the esteemed jury!

Esports Team of the Year

Astralis, CS:GO – winner! The recent success of this team is first place at ELEAGUE CS:GO Premier 2018.

Astralis Esports Team of The Year 2018
  • Contenders from the discipline CS:GO were: Cloud 9, FaZe Clan, Na’Vi, mousesports.
  • From Dota 2: Virtus Pro, Team Liquid, PSG.LGD, Team Secret, Mineski.
  • League of Legends: SKT, Gen.G, KingZone DragonX, Royal Never Give Up, TSM.
  • Overwatch: NYXL, LA Valiant, LA Gladiators, London Spitfire, Boston Uprising.
  • Call Of Duty: Rise Nation, Red Reserve, Luminosity, FaZe Clan, Team Kaliber.

Esports Player of the Year

Oleksandr ‘S1mple’ Kostyliev from the CS:GO team Na’Vi – winner! S1mple and his teammates recently won ESL One: Cologne 2018.

s1mple player of the year
  • CS:GO contenders: Niko, Coldzera, Device, GuardiaN.
  • Dota 2: Gh, Miracle, Yapzor, Ramzes, Somnus.
  • League of Legends: Pray, Faker, Uzi, Khan, BDD.
  • Overwatch: Jjonak, Fissure, Saebyeolbe, Gesture, Profit.
  • Call Of Duty: Gunless, Octane, Kenny, Slasher, Skrapz.

Esports Breakthrough of the Year

Robin ‘Ropz’ Kool from CS:GO team mousesports – winner! With the teammates, Ropz recently won the tournament V4 Future Sports Festival – Budapest 2018.

ropz breaktrough of the year Contenders in this nomination were:

  • Yang “Chalice” Shenyi, Dota 2 PSG.LGD;
  • Vladimir “RodjER” Nikogosyan, Dota 2;
  • Sung-hyeon “JJoNak” Bang, Overwatch New York Excelsior;
  • David “Fuzzface” Tillberg Persson, PUBG FaZe Clan.

Moment of the Year

Team Liquid wins TI 2017 after losing in the first round – they managed to run through the losers bracket to the Grand Final and victory,

Esports moment of the Year Other moments mentioned in the Awards as contenders:

  • Cloud 9 wins the CS:GO Major in London.
  • Scarlett wins Intel Extreme Masters PyeongChang.
  • Announcement of the $100,000,000 Prize Pool for Fortnite Esports Tournament.
  • Formation of Counter-Strike Professional Players Association (CSPPA).

Tournament of the Year

The International 2017 – the most powerful Dota 2 event (Read the detailed results of TI8 here)

The International is tournament of the year Tournaments-contenders:

  • ELEAGUE Major: Boston 2018;
  • 6 Invitational – Rainbow 6 (Montreal);
  • Fortnite Pro-Am 2018 (E3);
  • League of Legends Worlds.

Other interesting nominations are:

  • On-Camera talent of the year – Mitch “Uber” Leslie, commentator of the Overwatch League.
  • Nordic team of the year – Astralis (CS:GO).
  • Nordic player of the year – Lasse “MATUMBAMAN” Urpalainen (Dota 2 Team Liquid).
  • Nordic Broadcaster Of The Year – Henrik “AdmiralBulldog” Ahnberg (Dota 2 player and streamer).

Only in one category was the result determined by gamers through open voting:

Esport profile of the year – Ninja.

Only Astralis got two awards at STHESA 2018. Maybe this will help the team to raise their spirit and win the upcoming CS:GO Faceit Major in London!

enhance your game
Refresh your skins inventory
Go to market